First blog post

*Warning – long post ahead. Let’s catch you up on my life*

Homes (1).pngHow quickly things can change from your plans to God’s plans.


Last spring Tim, Leah, and Phoebe moved to camp. All of us thought that they would only be there for a few months but that few months changed into 6 then into 1 year. They have now been living with us in our basement for a year and 3 months. It has been great getting to know them more and getting to watch Phoebe grow up and actually know who we are. About mid-April or so, Leah, Tim and I were sitting around talking and we got on the topic of me moving out at some point and where did I want to live out. I was (and am) pretty sure that I didn’t want to live my entire life in Gainesville, GA. but I didn’t know where I wanted to move to. I moved to camp when I was 7 and haven’t moved since (well once for 3 weeks but we’ll get to that later ;)) They mentioned that in thinking and praying about moving a couple of places (NC and KS) were mentioned that had good chapels. I started praying and trying to figure out where to move to and how to go about it. I have no idea why but Kansas was the place that stuck in my mind and kept coming back. I started ironing out my resume, looked to see what jobs were out there (applying to a few), what the cost of living was, etc.


In applying to a few jobs I started to get an uneasy feeling because I had yet to include my parents in any of this. Not on purpose but the camp was starting to get busy and it’s hard to find time to talk. I finally got arrangements made for my parents and me to go to Chick-fil-A for breakfast one day so that we could talk without interruption. I don’t know what response I expected to get from my parents when I told them that I thought it was time to move out and that I thought I was supposed to move to Kansas or North Carolina but it still surprised me. Their response “We know all of you children have to move out at some point and if you feel like you’re supposed to move to Kansas or North Carolina than we’ll help you how we can. Those are both far away, one more than the other but at least there are good chapels up there and we know some people up there so you wouldn’t be completely alone. Like I said not sure what I expected but I don’t think it was that.


Now that I had finally talked with my parents I felt that I could start moving forward. Dad had asked if I wanted him to make the first contact and then hand it off to me which I decided was the best plan. I applied to more jobs and kept doing research on both areas. I got to a point that I felt like I needed to narrow in on one of the states. Like I had said before, Kansas was the one that kept coming back to mind and I knew the friends that lived in Kansas as opposed to my dad knowing the guy that he knew up in North Carolina. Camp was getting busy so I asked dad if he would be okay with me writing up a letter to send out since he hadn’t had a chance to make the phone calls. This letter took 3 drafts each that were edited extensively and read to many of my siblings before I decided that I was satisfied that it introduced me, let them know what I was looking for, and asking for help.


I had about 5 gentlemen that I was going to be sending this letter to and one of them was Joe Hawkinson. Now with me working full time I was rarely at camp and hadn’t been able to keep up with the happenings of camp. Joe was the speaker for Jr. 2 and within 24 hours of my finding that out, I had my mom, my dad, Leah, and Samuel (my brother) all tell me that I needed to speak with him while he was at camp. Needless to say, I think I got the message by the fourth one telling me 🙂 I’m not the most outgoing person and I get nervous talking to someone about anything big. Monday morning I asked him after breakfast if we could find a time to talk but that I left for work at lunch time each day so it would have to be before then. Tuesday before breakfast he asked if it would take a long time or would now be fine. I had printed out my letter and decided to just let him read that first and then we could talk. After reading the letter he said that the administrator at his work was actually getting ready to retire and if I minded if he gave my letter to his boss and a copy to the elders at his chapel as well. I told him of course and printed off some generically addressed letters and also a copy of my resume and cover letter. He ended the conversation by smilingly telling me that it was the Lord’s will for me to move to Topeka.


June 29-25 – Junior 2

July 7th – first contact with Kalos (where Joe works)


The first email came around 1:30 which was right after I got to work, I didn’t check my email till I went on break around 4. I love working with my brother and was able to go straight to him and tell him about the email.

In all of these emails with Kalos, I had also been emailing with Joe. Trying to figure out cost of living, living arrangements, and a lot more. He had said in those emails that I was more than welcome to live their family for a time and that there was an elder at the Chapel that had a basement apartment that they might be willing to rent to me.

I’ll fast forward through the emails that were sent.

July 11th – he sent me the company application to fill out.

July 12th – sent back the filled out application

July 18th – phone interview – he wanted me to fill out two assesments

July 19th – finished the two assesments and waited for him to contact me

July 25th – he emailed and asked if I was still interested in the job and if I had time for a visit.

July 26th – hashed out the details and booked a flight for the interview for August 5-7


Well, I think that should have you caught up so far.

Leave a Reply

